The End

These are my last words to Erdem and anyone who is involved in discussions around my ongoing past performance “in between prayers” (documented here in this site) and the “standing man” intervention during Gezi Park events. I had to publish these words as an answer to Erdem’s facebook post. I am so happy that here and now, this relationship has come to an end.

 

Erdem,

This is an unsubstantial and unacceptable accusation. I have not been writing, talking or actually thinking about you.

I do thank you, however, for suggesting a correction of language. I will ask ImPulsTanz editors to make a change in my biography: “seemed to” does sound like it is my own perception and should be changed to “perceived as”, since it actually happens to be not me but a number of art historians, journalists, and colleagues who made that connection.

You can find the links to their articles and messages in the blog of my durational public space performance “in between prayers-doing nothing” – which took place at the Caglayan Palace of Justice, then Taksim Square, TTT Budapest, Arsenal and ended in a dark hotel room in Djon following its initial conceptual sharings during Open Mic Istanbul radio broadcast and tribute for Pınar Selek at ÇATI studio. (https://inbetweenprayersintime.wordpress.com/).

Reading this blog, one would also see that what you seem to have “perceived” and written above has nothing at all to do with my reality. I have in the past publicly expressed my celebration of your act — as I “used to” think you were a friend of mine. Especially the following message I sent to danslistesi back in 2013 details my perspective on this matter: https://inbetweenprayersintime.wordpress.com/…/yazilan…/

Given all the above, one wonders what might actually have caused your own misperceptions. And what leads you to NOT communicate with me directly, in person and in Turkish, but write a public post here in English instead? You lose me on that one.

Wishing you all the best in your journey, I just want to cite my Every Body Knows workshop’s introduction here:

“There is nothing new under the sun! And yet what is already there invites us to dive deeper into the layers of our presence; to seek a conscious yet liberated and sovereign place to dance from.” 

Defne


Leave a comment